Sharlene Teo wins Booker Foundation Scholarship

Singaporean writer Sharlene Teo has been announced as this year’s recipient of the UEA-Booker Foundation scholarship, which enables a student to undertake the Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) MA and covers course fees and living and travel expenses up to the value of £25,000. The inaugural recipient of the award in 2009 was D.W. Wilson, who went on to become the youngest ever winner of the BBC National Short Story Award in 2011. He was followed by Anthony Good in 2010 and Eliza Robertson in 2011. Sharlene (pictured) was born in 1987 and previously studied law at the University of Warwick. Her fiction and poetry has appeared in various literary journals in Singapore, the US and the UK, and she currently serves as Fiction Editor for Notes from the Underground and is an editorial intern for Asymptote Journal. A sample of her work can be found on our website: www.newwriting.net.

Comments are closed.