‘All Over Ireland: New Irish Short Stories’ edited by Deirdre Madden

All Over Ireland: New Irish Short Stories contains new fiction by 14 Irish writers, including Colm Toibin, Mary Morrissy, Eoin McNamee, Frank McGuinness and Lucy Caldwell.  The anthology is edited by UEA alumnus Deirdre Madden and is published by Faber and Faber this week. Deirdre graduated from the UEA Creative Writing MA in 1985. Her novella Hidden Symptoms was written during the course and published in 1986. This went on to win the Rooney Prize for Irish Literature. Her first novel The Birds of the Innocent Wood was published in 1988 and won the Somerset Maugham Award. One By One In The Darkness, published in 1997, was shortlisted for the Orange Prize, as was Molly Fox’s Birthday, published in 2008. Her most recent novel, her eighth, Time Present and Time Past, was published by Faber & Faber in 2013. She has also written three books for children, and currently teaches Creative Writing at Trinity College, Dublin.

Add new comment


Post as Guest