Deepa Anappara wins Deborah Rogers Writers’ Award

Djinn Patrol On The Purple Line by UEA writer Deepa Anappara has been announced as the winner of the 2018 Deborah Rogers Writers’ Award for debut authors, which is worth £10,000 and honours the memory of the literary agent Deborah Rogers who died in 2016. Deepa (pictured) is a journalist and editor who graduated last year from the MA in Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) at UEA and has since joined the PhD in Creative & Critical Writing. Djinn Patrol On The Purple Line was the winner of the 2017 Bridport / Peggy Chapman-Andrews Award for a First Novel and has recently been shortlisted for the Lucy Cavendish Fiction Prize. The inaugural Deborah Rogers Award was won in 2016 by UEA graduate Sharlene Teo, while fellow alumna Imogen Hermes Gowar was shortlisted.

Add new comment


Post as Guest